You\’re enjoying a nice, casual drive through Florida. You\’ve got your favorite songs playing, and you\’re looking forward to the day ahead. And then… disaster strikes! Auto Accident Injuries happen that fast!
Maybe someone rear-ends you. Maybe you\’re caught in a pile-up after a hurricane or other natural disaster. Or maybe there\’s just a moment of inattention and you hit another car.
Whatever the cause, when you\’re involved in a car accident in Florida, your first question is likely to be: \”How long do I have to file an insurance claim?\”
This guide will take you through everything you need to know about filing an insurance claim after a car accident in Florida, including what the law has to say about it and how long you\’ll have to wait for compensation. By the end of this guide, you\’ll be able to set off on your own path toward getting back on your feet after being involved in a car accident.
Is There a Deadline for Filing a Claim?
In Florida, the statute of limitations for filing a car accident claim against the at-fault driver and their insurance carrier for personal injury or property damage is 4 years from the date of the accident.
You can\’t predict when disaster will strike. One minute you\’re brushing your teeth and thinking about your day, and the next minute, through no fault of your own, you\’ve been rear-ended. Now you\’re dealing with a totaled car and it\’s not even lunchtime yet.
If this scenario sounds all too familiar to you, you might be wondering if there is any way to get justice for the financial costs of your accident—the physical damage to your car, the medical bills from your injuries, or your lost wages (if you had to take time off work during your recovery period).
The good news is that the State of Florida offers protection for victims of car accidents who need compensation in order to get back on their feet. In Florida, the statute of limitations for filing a car accident claim against the at-fault driver and their insurance carrier for personal injury or property damage is four years from the date of the accident.
This unrivaled window of opportunity gives you plenty of time to bring forward a claim and handle any negotiations or legal proceedings that arise. That said, it\’s best not to wait until the last minute—even if you have up to four years from the date of your accident, it\’s wise to start working on your case as soon as possible after an accident.
Why Do I Need an Attorney for My Car Accident Claim?
What if you\’re not so lucky when it comes to deadlines? What if you miss a deadline that has real consequences for your financial security or future health? That\’s exactly what can happen if you don\’t file a claim for compensation after an auto accident within four years.
In Florida, everyone who is injured in an auto accident must file their claim for compensation within four years from the date of the accident—no matter what. Failure to do so will result in your case being dismissed by the judge. But this is just one of many reasons why it\’s important not to delay when it comes to filing a claim after an auto accident.
Next, you should visit an auto accident doctor or medical specialist, you only have 14 days to see one or your insurance will not cover! For more information read this: VISIT YOUR INJURY CHIROPRACTOR AFTER AN AUTO ACCIDENT